Regret

The assignment for day two of Writing101, write a list, I sort of ducked out of with a very bad and unoriginal joke.

Today’s assignment, well, yesterdays to be precise, I’m a day behind, presented us with another list of words with the suggestion that we pick one.

REGRET

I’ve never understood this emotion.  We are not able to alter the past, decisions once made cannot be unmade, opportunities lost will not return. We cannot jump in the same river twice.  I do not yield easy to regret. I am sorry for some of the choices I have made, the hateful word spoken with ill care, the times when I deprived myself of an experience through sloth or self-indulgence, and the consequences of those decisions. But that is not regret.  Regret is just another form of self-indulgence.  The past is immutable.

DSCF0191

Leave a Reply

