More like prunes than rhubarb

I was interrupted at work one day by my boss who stopped by just to tell me the news that Jack Lemon had died.  A moments pause while I let this sink in before I replied with a shrug of my shoulders, “Well, nobody’s perfect.”

I’ll let that sink in.

I was introduced by my friend Pete, to a guy who had appeared in the stage show of the classic radio show “Round The Horne”, a show that I loved as a kid, for the sheer silliness of it, especially the outrageous vocal characterisations of the players.  Most of it must have gone straight over my head, when I listen to this show now I’m still amazed by the intelligent and witty scripts and wonder how they got away with it!

Any road up, after much laughter and sharing of memories of the show, Tim asked me what my favourite quote was, and instantly I replied “Please yourself, we only fix the seats.” Which, even now, cracks me up every time I hear it.

Or take this exchange between the central and archetypal straight man, Mr. Horne and the shabby deluded (or delusional)? benign dictator, J. Peasmold Gruntfuttock.

Gruntfuttock: No, no longer am I King Gruntfuttock for I have heard the voices telling me to abdicate orff out of it.  I am plain dictator Gruntfuttock.

Mr Horne: So, you’re a despot?

Gruntfuttock: I don’t go looking for it.

My friend Mark Bialczak has set me a challenge and the challenge is this: –

 

Post your three favorite quotes, one each for three consecutive days.

With each post nominate three bloggers for the challenge.

Recognize the blogger who nominated you

Today is day three and there are so many people I would love to nominate and so many quotes I would love to choose.

The three people I would love to nominate today are Gail Thornton, Stefan Wood and Paul Nichols.  There’s only one problem here, none of them have a blog.  Yet.

As for my third and final quote – well, take your pick.

In fact, you decide.  Which of the following is your favourite?  Which would you nominate?  let the voting commence.

A: “From the moment I picked up your book until I put it down, I was convulsed with laughter. Some day I intend reading it.”

B: “I’ve had a perfectly wonderful evening, but this wasn’t it.”

C: “Well, art is art, isn’t it? Still, on the other hand, water is water! And east is east and west is west and if you take cranberries and stew them like applesauce they taste much more like prunes than rhubarb does. Now, uh… now you tell me what you know.”

9 thoughts on “More like prunes than rhubarb

  1. HI radicalrambler, just popping over to return your visit and reckon I shall stay awhile! Love your quotes – doing my first this evening and don’t know that Pooh bear quite matches up to these examples! Love the first 2, don’t know but they sound like Groucho Marx? I’ll be back (oh dear that sounds familiar)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

