pop of colour

Red on white

Red on white

An old favourite this – Mothers Day 2013 and in the morning I sat by Crummock Water watching a gentle flurry flow around me as I rang my Mum to wish her Happy Mother’s Day. We chatted for some time, for despite the snow it did not feel cold, beside which I was well insulated and mesmerised by my first sight of the nearby fells.  It continued to snow off and on through out the day. Not heavy and quite pleasant to walk in, or even sit around outside and watch it fall on the nearby fells.  The following morning it had stopped leaving a thin layer on the ground.  We walked down to the famous Lorton Yew. The grass beneath and the early morning light gave the white snow a blue tinge which made my red-haired sheltie, Heidi, look even redder.  She loved the snow and she had great fun exploring it with her nose.  Here she is poised on the impulse of a bark.

One thought on “pop of colour

Leave a Reply

