Over the hill

Walking for relaxation and pleasure is, for me, a rural activity.  An opportunity to get away from it all and enjoy the solitude that nature has to offer at a leisurely pace.  City walks are something completely different – the sole reason for walking in a city is to get somewhere, and you are only walking because the car is being repaired and where you want to go is not on a bus route.

When I first moved to the city I shared a car so was well used to having to rely on shanks’s pony to get about and would think nothing of walking into town, or up to the local library and shops.  But then I got a car of my own and with it the freedom to escape to the hills, woods and streams.  That is also when I started to out on weight, but that’s another story.

A couple of weeks ago I decided I would walk into town.  I would not take the most direct route, but would cut through Mere Lane and wander across Everton Brow before heading down towards Shaw Street and London Road.  My reward would be a coffee and scone at St George’s Hall.

Everton Brow - looking towards the north end of the city and across the Mersey to the Wirral

Everton Brow – looking towards the north end of the city and across the Mersey to the Wirral

DSCF7139

an iconic skyline

an iconic skyline

Breckfield Community School - eschewing the general nautical theme of many of the recent city centre buildings and going for an aeronautical look

Breckfield Community School – eschewing the general nautical theme of many of the recent city centre buildings and going for an aeronautical look

down there, the new "Greatie" - Great Homer Street Market

down there, the new “Greatie” – Great Homer Street Market

DSCF7148

Sunday morning - walking the dog

Sunday morning – walking the dog

DSCF7158 (2)

DSCF7159

The old lock-up.  Nils satis Nisi optimum

The old lock-up.
Nils satis Nisi optimum

DSCF7169

the old Collegiate, Shaw Street.  So much has changed round here in the last 20 years.  This building was derelict when I first came here - now turned into flats - yours for only £700 a month

the old Collegiate, Shaw Street. So much has changed round here in the last 20 years. This building was derelict when I first came here – now turned into flats – yours for only £700 a month

And from Shaw Street it is only a short step into London Road and another Liverpool icon – T J’s.

DSCF7175

It was great to be reminded of what attracted me to this city in the first place , and to slow down and take time to enjoy it.  I’ll post some pictures of the rest of the walk later.  I have a feeling this is a walk I shall be doing more often.

Leave a Reply

